Academy Council

“Governors are jointly responsible for the conduct of the school, ensuring that the best possible Catholic education is provided for the pupils attending the school. This means ensuring the school is run according to its Articles of Association and the Diocesan Trust Deed, that its religious character is preserved and developed, and that pupils obtain high standards of academic achievement.”
— Diocese of Leeds Office for Education and Schools

Scheme of Delegation

Sacred Heart Ilkley Scheme of Delegation (1/4/2013)

Statement of Governance

Statement of Governance (July 2017)

Statement of Governance (July 2015)

Contact for the Chair of the Academy Council

Mr Eddie Jones, Chair of the Academy Council:

Academy Council Members 2017/18

Name Position on Academy Council Term of Office Additional Responsibilities Business Interests Governance Interests Year Group Link Relationships to members of the school staff
Mr Eddie Jones Foundation Governor

Chair of the Academy Council
01.09.16 – 31.08.20 Religious Education

Whistle Blowing

School Meals
'The Constant Gardener (Ilkley)' none Year 2 none
Mgr Keiran Heskin Foundation Governors

Sacred Heart Parish Priest
01.09.16 –31.08.20 RE Diocese of Leeds Trustee

Hinsley Properties - Director
none Year 3 none
Mrs Karen Robertson Foundation Governor

Vice Chair of the Academy Council
01.09.14 – 31.08.18 Chair of Resources Committee

School Meals

Chair of Admissions Committee
N G Bailey - Accountant none Year 6 none
Mrs Mary Curran Foundation Governor 01.09.16 –31.08.20 English Curriculum and Standards

Chair of the School Improvement Committee
none none Year R/Year 1
Mr Duncan Hoggett Foundation Governor 01.09.17–31.08.21 Safeguarding Odgers Berndtson - partner none Year 5 none
Dr Alan Blighe Parent Governor 4.10.17 -3.10.21 Researcher at University of Bradford Year 4
Miss Claire Mountain Staff Governor

Assistant Head
27.09.17–26.09.21 n/a none none n/a Partner of Mr L Gilhooly, teacher
Mrs Alixena Lubomski Headteacher 1.9.2012 – Looked after children none Director of The Bishop Wheeler Catholic Academy Trust (BWCAT)

Member of Strategic Intervention Board - St Stephen's, Skipton

Diocesan S48 Inspector
n/a none
Mrs Moira Hogan Non-voting Associate Governor

Deputy Head
1.1.2013 – n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a

Membership of COMMITTEES 2017/18

School Improvement Committee

  • Mrs Mary Curran - Chair
  • Mr Eddie Jones 
  • Mr Alan Blighe 
  • Miss Claire Mountain
  • Mrs Alixena Lubomski
  • Ms Moira Hogan 

Resources Committee

  • Mrs Karen Robertson- Chair
  • Mr Eddie Jones
  • Mr Duncan Hoggett
  • Mrs Alixena Lubomski


  • Mrs Karen Robertson - Chair 
  • Mr Eddie Jones
  • Mr Alan Blighe
  • Miss Claire Mountain
  • Mrs Alixena Lubomski

HT Performance Management

  • Mr Eddie Jones - Chair
  • Mrs Karen Robertson
  • Mrs Caroline Hyde - BWCAT Trust Director
  • Ms Tina Warden – Educational Consultant

Attendance at Academy Council Meetings and Committees 2016/17

Name Academy Council Meetings Resources Committee School Improvement Committee Admissions Committee
Mr Eddie Jones 4 of possible 4 3 of possible 3 3 of possible 3 1 of possible 1
Mgr Keiran Heskin 4 of possible 4 n/a n/a 1 of possible 1
Mrs Karen Robertson 3 of possible 4 3 of possible 3 n/a 1 of possible 1
Mrs Mary Curran 3 of possible 4 n/a 3 of possible 3 n/a
Mrs Lisa McDonell 2 of possible 2 2 of possible 2 n/a n/a
Mrs Emma Usherwood 2 of possible 2 n/a 2 of possible 2 n/a
Mrs V Brooke 2 of possible 4 n/a 2 of possible 3 n/a
Mrs Alixena Lubomski 4 of possible 4 3 of possible 3 2 of possible 3 1 of possible 1

Former Members of the Academy Council who served within the last 12 months

Name: Mrs Emma Usherwood, Foundation Governor

Dates of last term: Oct 2015 - April 2017

Declared Business Interests: Prince Henry's Grammar School, Company Secretary


Name: Mrs Vicky Brooke, Staff Governor

Dates of last term : Sept2013 - Aug 2017

Declared Business Interests: none 

How Academy Councillors are Appointed

  • Foundation councillors are appointed by the Diocese of Leeds, following recommendation from the parish priests.
  • Staff councillors are appointed through a process of election by the whole staff of the academy.
  • Parent councillors are appointed through a process of election by the parents of students at the academy.
  • The Foundation Priest maintains their post for a fixed term.
  • The Headteacher maintains their post for as long as they are in role. 

Academy Council Minutes

Academy Council Minutes